Curriculum Reviews

Looking for a handy tool to find out if a particular curriculum might work for your homeschool?  Check out these helpful reviews!

Parenting with Love & Logic by Jennifer Hirschi

posted May 12, 2014, 7:26 AM by Spring Hills Homeschool Group   [ updated Aug 17, 2016, 5:50 AM ]




I have read the book, Parenting With Love and Logic, and I love the concepts taught! My son definitely responds to this "logical" parenting style. It's one that I have to return to for a reminder. I have a couple of friends that attended seminars and said they were WONDERFUL and very helpful.














Review submitted by Jennifer Hirschi; Photo courtesy of Love and Logic.  You can find Love and Logic materials online @ http://www.loveandlogic.com/.

Classical Conversations by Rachael Woodall

posted May 2, 2014, 9:44 AM by Spring Hills Homeschool Group   [ updated Aug 17, 2016, 5:50 AM ]

Classical Conversations provides a very doable classical curriculum for grades K4-12th grade in a modern day one-room schoolhouse approach. We meet once a week as a community with a tutor, and the fellowship is so encouraging.

CC works in three cycles, with Cycle 3 starting in Fall 2014. You can start the program at any time, during any cycle! Cycle 3 covers US history and geography, the Presidents, anatomy, great artists and composers from American history, and so much more. Every cycle covers a timeline of history of the world (put to music!) and math skip counting through the 15s and formulas for finding area, as well as the four basic laws of math (also put to music). My kids LOVE it, and I love it. I've learned so much the past three years.

Review submitted by Rachael Woodall; Photo courtesy of Classical Conversations.  You can find Classical Conversations materials online @ http://www.classicalconversations.com

Time4Learning - by Christa Milner

posted May 1, 2014, 1:28 PM by Spring Hills Homeschool Group   [ updated Aug 17, 2016, 5:50 AM ]

We are a very eclectic family when it comes to homeschooling but we use Time4Learning as our primary program. As a parent with a child with Autism it makes it easier for us to focus on my sons strengths and work on the weakness. He loves the computer lectures in the high school level it has an instructor who speaks as the notes are put on the screen having a student that needs multi sensory education this works for us. There is a quiz after every lecture to see if there is retention. I also love when it is time for portfolio review I can print all his work for the year including grades and what was studied easily. We do supplement additional resources but with the high school level we have not needed to do much supplemental to his academic classes as we did in the younger classes.

Review submitted by Christa Milner; Photo courtesy of Time4Learning.  You can find Time4Learning materials online @ http://www.time4learning.com

Bob Jones Algebra I and II, Geometry, and Pre-Calculus:

posted Feb 17, 2011, 10:07 AM by Spring Hills Homeschool Group   [ updated Aug 17, 2016, 5:50 AM ]

The Bob Jones high school math series may not be the best choice for a student who struggles, or a parent-teacher who struggled, in math. However, it is an excellent choice for students interested in science, math, or engineering for future career choices. Each course includes all topics that would be seen in a public/private school math series, so the student will be well prepared for college entrance exams or future college classes. All topics are introduced in a logical manner, and spiraling allows for constant review of prior work. The most unique feature of these editions is that each chapter concludes with a Bible study connecting the math concept just covered with its Biblical roots. Additionally, each course has an advanced topic introduced over the span of the school year, to provide preparation for future study: probability & statistics, analytic geometry, matrices, and tessellations. The teacher manuals provide not only the pacing and answers, but also give substantial explanation and additional background to assist in a successful teaching experience.

 
Review submitted by Jennifer Hansen; Photo courtesy of BJU Press.  You can find Bob Jones University Press materials online @ www.bjupress.com

1-4 of 4